NC State broadcaster Hahn suspended for illegal alien comment

NC State radio broadcaster Gary Hahn has been suspended indefinitely after making a reference to “illegal aliens” in El Paso, Texas, while announcing an out-of-town score during the Wolfpack’s loss to Maryland in the Duke’s Mayo Bowl on Friday.

Hahn is an employee of Learfield Communications, the NC State broadcast rightsholder, and was disciplined by that company. NC State athletic director Boo Corrigan deferred comment to Learfield.

“Learfield has suspended Wolfpack Sports Network play-by-play announcer Gary Hahn from his agreement indefinitely following comments made during today’s Duke’s Mayo Bowl radio broadcast,” Wolfpack Sports Properties general manager Kyle Winchester said in a statement relayed by the school.

NC State radio broadcaster Gary Hahn calls NC State’s men’s basketball game against Syracuse at PNC Arena in Raleigh, on Feb. 2, 2022. Ethan Hyman

While giving the score of the Sun Bowl on Friday, Hahn said “down among all the illegal aliens in El Paso it’s UCLA 14 and Pittsburgh 6.”

The Sun Bowl canceled its annual fan fest last week because the city’s convention center is being used to house migrants awaiting immigration decisions, making El Paso a hot-button topic for political commentary.

Hahn, the North Carolina Sportscaster of the Year in 2011 and 2020, has been the voice of NC State football and men’s basketball since 1991.

Andrew Sanders was already scheduled to call Friday night’s basketball game against Clemson along with Ernie Myers, with Hahn and Tony Haynes occupied with football.

This story was originally published December 30, 2022 4:57 PM.

Related stories from Raleigh News & Observer

Sports columnist Luke DeCock joined The News & Observer in 2000 and has covered six Final Fours, the Summer Olympics, the Super Bowl and the Carolina Hurricanes’ Stanley Cup. He is the current president of the US Basketball Writers Association, was the 2020 winner of the National Headliner Award as the country’s top sports columnist and has twice been named North Carolina Sportswriter of the Year.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *